RSS

>ESPN’s 30 for 30: Fernando Nation

14 Oct

>

Naiti Gomez                                                               
Fernando Nation” is coming to a television near you. It will be premiering on ESPN Deportes, October 24 at 6 p.m. PST*

I was too young to see Fernando Valenzuela pitch in a Dodgers uniform. But I did get the privilege of witnessing him pitch at Dodger stadium. It was 1994 and Valenzuela was a member of the Philadelphia Phillies.

At the time, I had no idea the impact Fernando had on the Los Angeles fanbase during his time with the Dodgers. The game was a sellout and my dad bought tickets right next to the opposing team’s bullpen. I remember the media interviewing my dad, grandma, and aunt about the impact Valenzuela had on them. There is even a photo of my dad on the front cover of a newspaper that is no longer in existence.

I’m certain that, director, Cruz Angeles did a phenomal job with this documentary about Fernando and those who were too young to see the impact of “FernandoMania” will appreciate it. One of a few ESPN 30 for 30’s that I’m excited about.

Get those DVRs ready.

*For those without ESPN Deportes, they will re-air it on October 26, on ESPN at 5 p.m. PST.

Johnathan Daniel/Getty Images                                       
 

Leave a Reply

 
