RSS

>Fernando Nation – Must Watch

22 Oct

>I had the privilege to attend the screening of ESPN’s 30 for 30 “Fernando Nation” last night.

“Fernando Nation” Premiere Dates/Times:
ESPN Deportes – October 24 at 6 p.m. PST
ESPN – October 26 at 5 p.m. PST

Make sure to read my earlier post about the film (link)

It was a great event and a day I would never forget. When I first arrived, I was able to walk around and talk to others. I was really nervous because it was my first time attending a media event. I brought my dad with me and he was just as excited as I was. He grew up watching Fernando Valenzuela and quickly became my dad’s favorite athlete.

The screening took place in the Stadium Club at Dodger Stadium. If you haven’t had the opportunity to visit the bar/restaurant, please make sure you do. The set up was nice and they had 3 televisions set up behind the bar for everyone to watch. From my view, I could only see 2 of them but that wasn’t a problem:

The whole night was dedicated to Fernando Valenzuela. From the moment he walked in, there were people surrounding him. He had to do a couple of interviews throughout the night.

As we waited for the movie to start, there were waiters and waitresses walking around with appetizers. They also had free beverages and Dodger Dogs! I didn’t expect that.

My favorite part was listening to the mariachi band perform during the waiting period. Fernando even took pictures with them.

The documentary was amazing. It gave great insight about the highs and lows of Valenzuela’s career with the Dodgers, but mainly focusing on his rookie season. Definitely helping a younger generation of baseball fans like me understand the legacy of Valenzuela, since I wasn’t around when he pitched. It also talks about how Dodger Stadium came about. It was fascinating to learn about what happened in the last 50’s between the Hispanic community and Dodgers owner, Walter O’Malley.

I don’t want to give away anymore of the storyline so I’ll leave it at that.

This documentary was another perfect selection for the 30 for 30 series. If you haven’t been watching them, you’re missing out. You can purchase the DVDs from Amazon (link)

After the film was over, there was some time for Q&A with Fernando Valenzuela and Cruz Angeles.

Cruz mentioned that he regretted not putting in the story about how Fernando learned to throw the screwball. He felt it was an essential part of why Fernando was so dominant. It’s tough when you only have 50 minutes to work with. I also learned that it only took 5 months to complete the entire documentary.

I want to thank the Dodgers and ESPN for hosting the event. Also, a special thank you to Angie from Conexión, for the invite.

ESPN 30 for 30 (link)

 

Leave a Reply

 
